Safeguarding

The academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. Parents can feel confident that careful procedures are in place to ensure that all staff and volunteers are suitable to work with children within the academy. The academy encourages parents and children to talk freely about any concerns or worries which may affect educational progress. It is important to us that parents and students see the academy as a safe place.

Children will be taken seriously if they seek help from a member of staff. Students may be referred for additional bespoke support from external agencies who work closely with the academy. The academy will endeavour to work in partnership with parents at all times to inform them of additional support required or accessed for their child. However, staff cannot guarantee to consult parents first, or to keep children's concerns confidential, if a referral must be made to agencies in order to safeguard the child's welfare.

Barnsley Safeguarding Children Partnership

Website: https://www.barnsley.gov.uk/services/children-families-and-education/safeguarding-families-in-barnsley/safeguarding-children-in-barnsley/barnsley-safeguarding-children-partnership/

All staff receive basic awareness training in the academy and/or via Hayes online.

If you have any concerns relating to any student in our academy please contact one of the following designated staff

Designated safeguarding leadMrs A Callaghancallaghana3@dartonacademy.org.uk
Deputy Designated safeguarding leadMrs L Kaykayl@dartonacademy.org.uk
Year 7 learning managerMrs L Woodhousewoodhousel@dartonacademy.org.uk
Year 8 learning managerMr T Jowittjowittt@dartonacademy.org.uk
Year 9 learning managerMrs D Hillierhillierd@dartonacademy.org.uk
Year 10 learning managerMr R Gregorygregoryr@dartonacademy.org.uk
Year 11 learning managerMiss V Houghlandhoughlandv@dartonacademy.org.uk
Attendance officerMrs A Rollinsonrollinsona@dartonacademy.org.uk

Safeguarding Team

Mrs A Callaghan

Designated Safeguarding Lead,
Prevent and Curriculum

Mrs L Kay

Deputy Safeguarding Lead

Mrs L Woodhouse

Y7 Pastoral Link

Mr T Jowitt

Y8 Pastoral Link

Ms D Hillier

Y9 Pastoral Link

Mr R Gregory

Y10 Pastoral Link

Miss V Houghland

Y11 Pastoral Link

Related Documents